Worst Quarterbacks to Ever Win a Super Bowl

Former NFL linebacker Charles Haley, displays his five Super Bowl rings as well as his Hall of Fame ring as he was honored on the floor of the Senate at the Capitol in Richmond, Va., Thursday, Feb. 18, 2016. haley was a graduate of James Madison University, a NFL Hall of Fame inductee as well as a five time Super Bowl Champion. (AP Photo/Steve Helber)



Super Bowl Sunday is here!

You may have read my article of the best quarterbacks to never win a Super Bowl, but what about the worst who did? Most Super Bowl-winning quarterbacks were on a good team (obviously), but were they good enough to win without help? Here are some of the quarterbacks who just didn’t meet the criteria for being some of the best of all time.

  1. Jim McMahon (1982-1996, 1985 Champion)

Creating this list honestly wasn’t easy. I had a clear-cut worst and second worse, but three, four, and five were up for grabs.

Jim McMahon was somebody who was highly respected as a college athlete. Most NFL teams saw a big future ahead of him after breaking 70 NCAA records at his time with BYU. McMahon was the fifth overall pick in the 1982 NFL draft to the Chicago Bears, and the second quarterback chosen, after Ohio State’s Art Schlichter. Jim had a fairly impressive rookie season and was voted as the Rookie of the year by UPI despite the bears finishing with a 3-6 record after a shortened season. McMahon did show promise early in his career, taking Chicago to the playoffs in his third season.

Jim was always very hard on his body, always doing what he could do to help the team win. McMahon faced injuries often after a brutal season-ending injury in 1984. While the 1985 Bears team is probably seen as one of the most dominant football teams of all time, much of this was due to their defense. It was led by their five pro-bowl defenders including Hall of Famers Dan Hampton, Mike Singletary, and Richard Dent. McMahon was no slouch in their Super Bowl year, being selected to the Pro-Bowl himself, but because of injuries and poor play later in his career, was never selected to another one.

McMahon in his well recognized 1980’s look.
  1. Jim Plunkett (1971-1986, 1980 and 1983 Champion)

Jim Plunkett was another player that showed much promise after college. Plunkett was the number one overall draft pick to the Patriots in 1971 after winning the Heisman Trophy at Stanford the previous year. Plunkett didn’t have a bad rookie season, passing for 19 touchdowns in a time where passing was your second offensive choice. His sophomore season, though, was much worse. He threw just eight touchdowns and 25 interceptions. The Patriots never made the playoffs during Plunkett’s tenure as starting quarterback.

Plunkett began playing with the Oakland Raiders in 1978. He was a backup to Ken Stabler for two years. In his first season as a starter with Oakland, they won the Super Bowl. This season he passed for 18 touchdowns and the team finished the regular season with an 11-5 record. He stepped up in the Super Bowl victory over the Philadelphia Eagles where he passed for three touchdowns.

His seasons with the Raiders were the best of his career, but Plunkett still throwing more interceptions than touchdowns in three of his seven seasons as a starter for the team. Plunkett finished his career with two Super Bowl wins and a Super Bowl MVP. This sounds great but he also threw 164 career touchdowns to 198 interceptions in his career. His career passer rating was just 67.5 and his completion percentage was a horrific 52.5%. Yikes.

Plunkett During his tenure with the Oakland Raiders.
  1. Jeff Hostetler (1984-1998, 1990 Champion)

Jeff Hostetler was a much less sought after player than the previous two on this list following their college careers. Hostetler was picked in the third round of the 1984 NFL draft by the Giants. While he was the second quarterback picked in the draft after Boomer Esiason, this quarterback draft had much less talent than the legendary 1983 draft.

Hostetler sat on the bench behind Super Bowl MVP Phil Simms and even Jeff Rutledge for the first few years of his career, starting less than five games before 1990. Hostetler even planned on retiring after the 1990 season because of lack of playing time. When Phil Simms was injured during the 1990 season, Hostetler got his shot and even won the job over Simms the following season, but for only one season.

Hostetler may not have had an excellent overall career, which is why he is on this list, but was successful in the postseason passing for seven touchdowns and zero interceptions and posting a 112.0 passer rating. Hostetler had his better seasons after leaving New York and heading to Oakland. He did manage to make the Pro-Bowl in 1994 but was his career never amounted to much more than that.

Hostetler cheering after a big play for his Giants.
  1. Doug Williams (1978- 1989, 1987 Champion)

Ah yes. Doug Williams, a player nobody ever expected to win a Super Bowl ring, and especially not a Super Bowl MVP. Williams had great success as a starter at Grambling State, leading the NCAA in passing touchdowns and yards in 1977.

He was a first-round draft pick in 1978 and the first quarterback taken in the draft to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Doug was the first African-American quarterback taken in the first round of the NFL draft in the league’s history.

Williams led the Bucs to the playoffs in three of his five seasons with the team. Despite his success with the team, Williams was paid the least of any NFL quarterback and chose to leave the NFL to play in the USFL for two years. After Williams leaving Tampa Bay, the team didn’t make the playoffs again until 1997.

After the USFL folded in 1986, Williams returned to the NFL to play for the Washington Redskins. He was benched for starter Jay Schroeder but later received the starting job due to a Schroeder injury.

The following season Williams and many other NFL players protested the NFL season and much of the season was played with replacement players. The replacement players got the Redskins to the playoffs and thus Doug Williams was able to make the Super Bowl and be the MVP. Williams Didn’t play the whole season and thus in my opinion didn’t deserve to play in the Super Bowl.

Williams dropping back for a pass.
  1. Trent Dilfer (1994-2007, 2000 Champion)

For me, This one was an easy decision as the worst quarterback to win the Super Bowl. Like most other quarterbacks on this list, Dilfer was drafted in the first round. Dilfer was named WAC Offensive Player of the year at Fresno State and earned himself the spot as the second quarterback to be drafted in 1994 to the Buccaneers. Dilfer struggled his first few seasons with the team. His sophomore season in the NFL he threw four touchdowns and 18 interceptions, yes you read that right, 4-18. Dilfer really didn’t get his footing in the NFL until 1997 where he lead the team to the playoffs.

Trent signed with the Baltimore Ravens in 2000 and backed up starter Tony Banks until the team got tired of Banks’ poor play. He led the Ravens to seven straight victories to end the season and land them a playoff spot. This year, they would go on to beat Kerry Collins and the New York Giants in the Super Bowl. Dilfer threw for one touchdown in this game and has Super Bowl MVP Ray Lewis to thank for his Super Bowl ring.

Even after winning the Super Bowl Dilfer was released by the Ravens the next year.  Dilfer was very inconsistent for the remainder of his career. He never threw for more than 11 touchdowns in a season the next six years. Dilfer finished his career with 113 touchdowns and 129 interceptions. His career passer rating, just 70.2. Trent Dilfer is butt.


Trent Dilfer doing Trent Dilfer stuff.



%d bloggers like this: